[W&B] Need help finding somebody insulting me on eBay...

Ole Tjugen ole at bruraholo.no
Wed Mar 28 11:45:12 EDT 2007


Yes, he's registered in UK, giving his adress as "Staffordshire". 77  
positive feedbacks, the only ones recent enough to see what they are are  
for tickets and motorcycle parts. I can't see that he's bought (or sold)  
anything photographic - ever.

regards,

Ole

På Wed, 28 Mar 2007 17:18:37 +0200, skrev David Silver <silver at well.com>:

> Hi gang,
>
> This is terribly off topic, but I wanted to quickly appeal to the
> resourcefulness and knowledge of the members because it MAY have some
> reflection on my relationship with the camera collecting community.  The
> issue is that this morning I received, through the eBay e-mail forwarding
> system, an outrageously rude and threatening note from somebody hiding
> behind eBay ID "saffron0_9".  This person chose to send the message
> without revealing his e-mail address (coward!), but, in a nutshell, he
> claimed that "thanks to the forum" people were now learning I am a fraud
> and a scam, and nobody was going to buy from me any longer!  The message
> arrived as a "question" regarding an item I'm currently selling on eBay
> (for what it's worth, I'm "dfscameras" and the camera in question is the
> Anthony 4-tube wet plate).  Now, my question for all of YOU is...can
> anybody find out for me who the heck is this "saffron0_9" or perhaps what
> is his direct e-mail address?  I believe he's in the United Kingdom.  And
> any ideas what "forum" this idiot is talking about?  What makes this  
> issue
> most pressing is that I received two e-mails earlier in the month, just
> out of the blue without any connection to eBay, one from an anonymous
> Comcast account and the other from a Yahoo address (which is as good as
> anonymous) saying variations of the same thing.  The problem with these  
> is
> that they did not come from the UK, but according to the headers they
> originated in two different parts of New England.  Mind you, I only gave
> you the basic intent of the recent eBay message...most of you are aware I
> can use some very "colorful" language on occasion, but the words THIS
> person used would even embarass ME if I relayed them to all of you here.
> Odd point...none of the messages actually referred to cameras.  They all
> referred to dirty rip-off dealings.  Anyway, my theory is this; I've been
> confused for another David Silver!  So I desparately want to corner this
> "saffron0_9" and find out what he knows.  Going to eBay and asking for
> help will NOT work (and anybody who has experience with eBay would know
> better!) and I can assume he's going to ignore the question I sent him
> back through the forwarding system.  No, this has to be done somehow
> outside the system, and the fact that "saffron0_9" appears to be a
> legitimate person who regularly visits eBay makes him my best connection
> so far.  I'm going to be returning from a trip this evening just in time
> to see my auctions finish, and I'm terrified there may be some
> repercussions from whatever "forum" has been bad mouthing me.  That would
> be a shame because I have a selection of real beauties going tonight.
> Thank you for any help or advice in finding "saffron0_9".
>
> Best wishes,
>
> David Silver--President
> International Photographic Historical Organization
> E-mail: silver at well.com  Telephone: (415) 681-4356
> Webpage location: http://www.well.com/user/silver/
>



-- 

Ole Tjugen



More information about the Woodandbrass mailing list