[W&B] Need help finding somebody insulting me on eBay...

David Silver silver at well.com
Wed Mar 28 11:18:37 EDT 2007


Hi gang,

This is terribly off topic, but I wanted to quickly appeal to the
resourcefulness and knowledge of the members because it MAY have some
reflection on my relationship with the camera collecting community.  The
issue is that this morning I received, through the eBay e-mail forwarding
system, an outrageously rude and threatening note from somebody hiding
behind eBay ID "saffron0_9".  This person chose to send the message
without revealing his e-mail address (coward!), but, in a nutshell, he
claimed that "thanks to the forum" people were now learning I am a fraud
and a scam, and nobody was going to buy from me any longer!  The message
arrived as a "question" regarding an item I'm currently selling on eBay
(for what it's worth, I'm "dfscameras" and the camera in question is the
Anthony 4-tube wet plate).  Now, my question for all of YOU is...can
anybody find out for me who the heck is this "saffron0_9" or perhaps what
is his direct e-mail address?  I believe he's in the United Kingdom.  And
any ideas what "forum" this idiot is talking about?  What makes this issue
most pressing is that I received two e-mails earlier in the month, just
out of the blue without any connection to eBay, one from an anonymous
Comcast account and the other from a Yahoo address (which is as good as
anonymous) saying variations of the same thing.  The problem with these is
that they did not come from the UK, but according to the headers they
originated in two different parts of New England.  Mind you, I only gave
you the basic intent of the recent eBay message...most of you are aware I
can use some very "colorful" language on occasion, but the words THIS
person used would even embarass ME if I relayed them to all of you here.
Odd point...none of the messages actually referred to cameras.  They all
referred to dirty rip-off dealings.  Anyway, my theory is this; I've been
confused for another David Silver!  So I desparately want to corner this
"saffron0_9" and find out what he knows.  Going to eBay and asking for
help will NOT work (and anybody who has experience with eBay would know
better!) and I can assume he's going to ignore the question I sent him
back through the forwarding system.  No, this has to be done somehow
outside the system, and the fact that "saffron0_9" appears to be a
legitimate person who regularly visits eBay makes him my best connection
so far.  I'm going to be returning from a trip this evening just in time
to see my auctions finish, and I'm terrified there may be some
repercussions from whatever "forum" has been bad mouthing me.  That would
be a shame because I have a selection of real beauties going tonight.
Thank you for any help or advice in finding "saffron0_9".

Best wishes,

David Silver--President
International Photographic Historical Organization
E-mail: silver at well.com  Telephone: (415) 681-4356
Webpage location: http://www.well.com/user/silver/



More information about the Woodandbrass mailing list